Familly: Persons and Times

I begin here to write a few words about the ancestors of Richard Carroll Sheehan. I’m the Richard I write of. I was born on September 17th of 1937 in Wayne County Michigan. Detroit is there.

My father was given the name of Carroll Joseph and my mother was given the name of Dorothy Cecilia. My mother’s maiden name was Johnson.

My father was born on May 26th of 1908 in Chicago, Cook County, Illinois.He married my mother on November 28th of 1936. My father, Carroll, was the first son of Joseph Carroll Sheehan and Josephine  Sophia Helwick.

There were other happenings in 1937:

~ Joshua Tree Townsite set up offices along 29 Palms Road close to the western entrance of Joshua Tree National Monument.

~ Dr. Bob and Bill of AA fame attended a meeting in Akron and Calculated that forty cases of sobriety resulted from their meetings, and come to believe that success is possible

~ The United Automobile Workers won their first contract with General Motors in February and a contract with Chrysler in March.

~ In June, the longest solar eclipse in 1200 years occurred.

Other happenings in 1908:

~ The General Motors Co. was organized in Flint, Michigan by William Durant

~ The Tungush Meteorite smashed into Siberia

~ Lyndon B. Johnson was born and later became president of the U.S.

~ Arnold Bennett’s novel Old Wives’ Tail was published

Leave a Reply

